Fortune blessed us with two wonderful events during our final week in Kampala.

On Thursday we visited Mulago hospital (the main referral hospital in the country) to see the newborn son of my former colleague at the Refugee Law Project, Lyandro Komakech. Lyandro became a good friend during my ten months at the RLP and it was an honor to see him, his beautiful wife, his mother-in-law, and newborn on such a special occasion.

dsc_0057

On Friday we attended the wedding of the brother of another former RLP co-worker, Moses Kabugere. Moses and I got to know each other during field visits to schools around Kampala for refugee education research that I helped out with. The wedding was an extravagant affair at one of Kampala’s nicest hotels. Lauren and I had a blast chatting with Moses’s friends and relatives seated at our table, and listening to the many speeches and live music.

As we prepare to leave Uganda this week and transition back into American life, I am happy that my last memories are of friends experiencing the simple joys universal in human life—birth, marriage, and the gathering together of loved ones.

dsc_0071

